Blue Jays Can End “Impressive” Streak

Toronto Blue Jays

Another post, another Blue Jays inspired “off-topic” topic.  The city of Toronto has not won a post-season series since the Maple Leafs (you know its long when they are mentioned) won their Conference Quaterfinal way back in 2004.  Since then neither the Leafs, Blue Jays or Raptors have won a playoff series.  In fact, there have been way more non-playoff seasons for their teams than anyone cares to count.  There are 14 metropolitan areas in North America that have the three major sports where series are played during the playoffs (MLB, NBA & NHL).  This streak is by far the longest of any of these markets.  The next closest is Denver, who’s last playoff series victory came in 2009 via the Nuggets.

I have included a list listing all markets with these three leagues with the last time one of their teams won a playoff series.  Since this list only includes series, any playoff round that is single game elimination (NFL, CFL & MLB Wild Card) is excluded from this list.  So, it goes without saying the Patriots Super Bowl championship is deflated from the records (sorry, bad joke).  In the interest of leveling the playing field, I sub divided the markets with two teams in each league into sub-markets.  New York is divided into city (Knicks, Rangers & Yankees) and Long Island (Islanders, Mets & Nets) as Brooklyn & Queens are technically on Long Island.  Also, Los Angeles is divided into LA1 (Dodgers, Kings & Lakers) and LA2 (Angels, Clippers & Ducks).

Here is the last of last playoff series victories by metropolitan area:
City                      Teams                                                          Last Series Win
Chicago                Blackhawks, Bulls, Cubs, White Sox     2015 (Cubs)
San Francisco    Athletics, Giants, Sharks, Warriors       2015 (Warriors)
New York (City) Knicks, Rangers, Yankees                       2015 (Rangers)
Los Angeles 2     Angels, Clippers, Ducks                           2015 (Ducks)
Washington        Capitals, Nationals, Wizards                  2015 (Capitals)
Minneapolis       Tiberwolves, Twins, Wild                        2015 (Wild)
Los Angeles 1     Dodgers, Kings, Lakers                            2014 (Kings)
Miami                  Heat, Marlins, Panthers                          2014 (Heat)
New York (Island) Islanders, Mets, Nets                          2014 (Nets)
Boston                 Bruins, Celtics, Red Sox                          2014 (Bruins)
Detroit                 Pistons, Red Wings, Tigers                    2013 (Tigers)
Phoenix               Coyotes, Diamondbacks, Suns              2012 (Coyotes)
Philadelphia       76ers, Flyers, Phillies                              2012 (76ers)
Dallas                  Mavericks, Rangers, Stars                      2011 (Rangers)
Denver                 Avalanche, Nuggets, Rockies                 2009 (Nuggets)
Toronto                Blue Jays, Maple Leafs, Raptors          2004 (Maple Leafs)

Once the Division Series is over, this list wil be out of date as either Toronto/Dallas and Long Island/Los Angeles 1 will move to the top of the list.

This entry was posted in Blue Jays, Lists, Major Leagues, Off-Topic and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s