Newfoundland Growlers, Kelly Cup Champions!!!


The Newfoundland Growlers are the 2019 Kelly Cup Finals (courtesy VOCM).

I would also like to give a shoutout to the Newfoundland Growlers for becoming the first Canadian team to win the ECHL Kelly Cup.  The Growlers, a Maple Leafs affiliate, became the first professional team from the province of Newfoundland & Labrador to win a league championship.  Of course, the trophy the was presented to the team last night at the Mile One Centre in St. John’s is technically a replica as last year’s champions are holding the trophy hostage.

Previous Newfoundland pro teams to make their league finals are the 1992 St. John’s Maple Leafs (lost Calder Cup Finals to Adirondack 4-3), 2014 St. John’s Ice Caps (lost Calder Cup Finals to Texas 4-1) and this year’s St. John’s Edge (lost the NBL Finals to Moncton 4-0).

This is also Atlantic Canada’s first professional hockey championship since the 2001 Saint John Flames (AHL Calder Cup).  Other Atlantic Canadian Calder Cup champions are the 1972, 1976 & 1977 Nova Scotia Voyageurs, 1982 New Brunswick Hawks and 1993 Cape Breton Oilers.  Also worth noting this is the second straight year a Maple Leafs affiliate won their league championship as the Marlies won last year’s Calder Cup.

Congratulations to the Growlers!!!

This entry was posted in hockey, Newfoundland and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s